In a Vase on a Monday

Red hot, but not a lot!


My first dahlia flower popped up at the weekend. It’s from a tuber I [barely] looked after over winter, having sown seeds of the variety Bishops Children in spring 2014.

The crazy big Pom Pom dahlias aren’t really my style, but love these striking single blooms in deepest red. They’re going to look great alongside my red Japanese acer in the front garden.

Also in the ‘vase’ – a glass (now chipped) that belonged to my Granny – are a couple of stems of bulking agent (photinia) and some geum Lady Strathdene which is sending up fabulous frilly yellow flowers on bobbing stems. This is their first year, grown from plugs, and I think they’re going to become a firm favourite in my borders.

A small sunny collection, to match the small amount of sun we’re getting!

In a Vase on a Monday is run by lovely blogger Rambling in the Garden. Join in!

8 thoughts on “In a Vase on a Monday

Leave a Reply

