Dimwit

I’ve been shattering gender stereotypes. You know, the one about the female of the species being good at reading instructions.

I’d been wondering why the climbing french beans I sowed weeks ago hadn’t germinated. Mr MBaF suggested “maybe you should put them in the greenhouse?”. “Nah, they’re supposed to be outside” I scoffed. Later, in a moment of self-doubt, I checked the packet….

Sow in pots on a windowsill or in a greenhouse.

Oops.

So, sheepishly I popped them in the greenhouse and low-and-behold, the first one popped up the next day! Most of them have now appeared, just a few days later. Plonker.

French beans popping up happily in our little greenhouse

French beans popping up happily in our little greenhouse

Similarly, the young tomato plants that I’ve now potted up outside shouldn’t even have been sown until this month because I’m growing them outside. Pah! No wonder they’re shivering in today’s cold winds!

Tomato 'sweet olive' in the brrrreeze

Tomato ‘sweet olive’ in the brrrreeze

Reminds me of the time I cooked hot cross buns without fruit (missed that line of the recipe) and took three attempts to make profiteroles (missed out a whole process…twice).

One thought on “Dimwit

Leave a Reply

