(Wo)man vs machine

I needed to get the Sharpe’s Express spuds in the ground today. The chits were so chitty they had foliage!

Really really ready for the ground

Really really ready for the ground

So I was forced to grit my teeth, ignore my back, and get the potato bed dug. When I arrived at the plot, a neighbouring allotmenteer was rotavating. So naturally I took my coat off, grasped my fork, and began my own little race against the machine!

With a bit of competitive spirit I got it done in record time. My neighbour finished just before me, and had done a much bigger area without having to take his coat off. But he made a lot of noise in the process and had to whack his rotavator with a big spanner a couple of times!

So, how did the results compare? See for yourself.

The results of my labours. A bit lumpy. Gardening glove for scale

The results of my labours. A bit lumpy. Gardening glove for scale

A nice tilth on the rotavated earth

A nice tilth on the rotavated earth

It might be noisy and (relatively) expensive, but a rotavator will soon be on my Christmas list!

5 thoughts on “(Wo)man vs machine

Leave a Reply

