Complacency is a slug’s best friend

Up to the ‘lotty in the freezing murk this afternoon, anticipating the harvest of the final winter cabbage (January King).

I knew it was GIGANTIC, and our last holiday supper before returning to work seemed the perfect occasion for its sacrifice.

Then…Gah! The magnificent dark green leafy globe had turned into a pathetic slimy brown mass.

It had drooped over, touched the ground, rotted off a bit and the slugs had a field day.

I could’ve cut it a month ago, but I was waiting for the right occasion; a special dinner, or a run of days when I could use it all up in different ways.

Turns out my complacency that it would wait – in peak condition – until I stopped dithering, was my downfall.

After stripping off all the manky leaves, the final score was Slugs 2/3: Family 1/3.

Hey ho, lesson learned, and our third was very crisp and delicious. My 2-year-old even ate it before her roast potatoes!

I hope the slugs enjoyed their portion as much.

3 thoughts on “Complacency is a slug’s best friend

  1. sweetpea2love says:

    I feel your pain, I too have suffered the army of slugs the last two years in my garden, eating away, before my crop was even close to being ready. I’ve tried the beer, but it had rained so often they bypassed the soggy beer in route to my garden. Hopefully this year won’t be so rainy and I can begin my battle, once again with the slimy slugs in the garden…

    Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

